West Azerbaijan Province

West Azerbaijan Province with an area of 43,660 sq. km is located in the northwest part of Iran and is among the most ancient provinces of Iran. Urmia is the province's capital city and its subsidiary cities are: Khoy, Maku, Salmas, Sardasht, Mahabad, Miandoab, Naghadeh, Piranshahr, Oshnavieh, Bukan, Takab, Shahin Dej and Siah Cheshmeh (Chaldoran). The majority of the people in this province are followers of Islam and Shiite, but the people of the cities of Mahabad, Sardasht and Piranshahr are inhabited by Sunnis and Kurds. Some Christians, Jews and Zoroastrians also live in Urmia.
Azerbaijan is called in Middle Persian; Atropatgan, in ancient Persian; Azarbadgan and in contemporary Persian; Azerbaijan. The ancient history of Azerbaijan is mixed with the history of Medes. Median tribe after migration to Iran captured the western parts of Iran including Azerbaijan. After Alexander the Macedonian conquered Persia, a commander called Atropat emerged in Azerbaijan and this land became known as Atropatgan. During the Seleucid reign, the area of Atropatgan was the safe haven and backrest of the Iranians against Greeks. Several local governments took power in Azerbaijan. After the occupation of Azerbaijan by Shah Ismail Safavi the First, Azerbaijan became the major center for the Safavid kings to gather military and accordingly during the Safavid, Azerbaijan witnessed the bloody battles between Iran and Ottoman corps, which the Chaldoran War is the most major one. In that war, Seyed Sadreddin the Chancellor of Shah Ismail Safavi was martyred and his tomb is now located four kilometers away from the city of Chaldoran in Sa’del village.
This Province is one of the most spectacular in the country with abundant historical, natural and tourism attractions. In terms of the number of landmarks, perhaps few provinces can be found in Iran competing with the West Azerbaijan Province. The existence of ancient relics such as the throne of Solomon, Hassan Lu hill, Qara Klisa, etc. with very long history are the indication of ancient civilization of this region in Iran.

Ardebil Province

Ardebil Province in the northwestern part of Iranian plateau makes up one percent of the total area of country, with an area more than 18,050 sq. km. This Province is limited from the north to the Aras River, Moghan Plains and Balha Rud in the Republic of Azerbaijan, from the east to Talesh and Baghru Mountains in Gilan Province, from the south to the contiguous mountains, valleys and plains of Zanjan Province and from the west to East Azerbaijan Province.
Four cities in the province are along 282.5 km of border with the Republic of Azerbaijan. In 159 km of this borderline, the rivers of Aras and Balha Rud are streaming. Along this border, Ardebil Province is connected to the Republic of Azerbaijan through two points of Aslan Duz and Pileh Savar. East Azerbaijan Province has common boundary with the cities of Pars-Abad, Meshkinshahr, Ardabil and Khalkhal. Ardebil Province is contiguous with Zanjan Province from the south. This province has a neighborhood from the east with Gilan Province through the cities of Ardebil, Khalkhal and Talesh mountain chains. The connecting path of Ardebil Province with the capital city of Iran is possible through the route of Ardebil-Astara (Heiran Col) and through the Qazvin-Rasht highway. Ardebil Province by suggestion of the Government and approval of the Parliament in 1994 was separated from the political-administrative district of East Azerbaijan Province and introduced as an independent province in country’s divisions.
This province has six cities, 16 districts, six municipalities and 2,193 villages. The city of Ardebil has four types of climate including warm Mediterranean, temperate Mediterranean, cold mountainous, and mild. The city of Ardebil is one of the coldest regions in Iran and experiences five to eight cold months in a year.
Ardebil Province like other capable regions of the country has magnificent background in weaving of various carpets and accordingly urban and rural artists through presenting their art and brilliant talents have been able to record outstanding and priceless samples of handicrafts. Carpet and Jajim weaving is almost unique in areas such as Moghan and Khalkhal. Rugs and Kilims which are the specific works of artists in Anbaran, Namin, Garmi and Khalkhal districts are among the salient handicrafts of Ardebil Province.

Aras Free Zone during the three recent economic, social and cultural development programs relying on knowledge-based management and capable consultants as well as motivated and specialized staff has become a pioneer region in the country and in terms of performance has indeed turned into a model for other free zones within the country and among countries of the region.

Contact Us

Free legal Advice

+98 41 3135

Email address:



East Azarbaijan - Jolfa official site of Aras Free Zone